Home > Uncategorized > How to Win Friends

How to Win Friends

Nathan Shoell | How to Win Friends and Influence People

Lately I have been on a book reading kick, and it is my goal to read at least one good book a month. If any body has some book suggestions, please leave a comment.

Recently, I have read “How to Win Friends & Influence People” by Dale Carnegie. This is one of my favorite books I have read it a number of times and I would highly recommend it. This book was originally written in 1936 and has been revised since. It amazes me that the principles found in this book still holds true today.

The principles found in “How to Win Friends & Influence People” are not new and in my opinion expound the “Golden Rule” (“Treat others as you would want to be treated”). Here are 10 of the 30 principles taught in the book:

  • Don’t criticize, condemn or complain
  • Give honest and sincere appreciation
  • Arouse in the other person an eager want
  • Become genuinely interested in other people
  • Smile
  • Be a good listener. Encourage others to talk about themselves
  • Talk in terms of the other person’s interests
  • Make the other person feel important and do it sincerely
  • Ask questions instead of giving direct orders
  • Let the other person save face

As you can see, the principles aren’t new but are principles I personally tend to forget to apply.

Not only is it an interesting, engaging, easy read, but also a great self reflection book. It is my goal to be able to master the principles Dale Carnegie taught. I know as I do, my relationships will be stronger and deeper.

If you are looking for ways to improve your relationships, or just looking for ways to improve yourself. I would highly recommend picking this book up. As you start to apply the principles, you will find out more about yourself, and as you apply the teaching your relationships will enhance. I know because this is what it has done for me.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. April 10, 2013 at 3:40 am

    I have to convey my respect for your kindness for all those that require guidance on this one field. Your special commitment to passing the solution up and down has been incredibly functional and has continually empowered most people just like me to achieve their dreams. Your amazing insightful information entails much to me and especially to my peers. Thanks a ton; from all of us.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

